|parev, pareve or parve (ˈpɑrvə, ˈpɑrəv, ˈpɑrvə, ˈpɑrəv, ˈpɑrvə, ˈpɑrəv)|
|Judaism milchik Compare fleishik See also kashruth containing neither meat nor milk products and so fit for use with either meat or milk dishes|
|pareve, pareve or parve|
|parve, pareve or parve|
(Yiddish: "neutral"), in the observance of Jewish dietary laws (kashrut), those foods that may be eaten indiscriminately, with either meat dishes or dairy products-two general classes of food that may not be consumed at the same meal. Fruits and vegetables are classified as pareve unless cooking or processing alters their status. In modern times, cakes and similar foods are classed as pareve, provided they are made with vegetable oil (rather than butter) and with "neutral" liquids substituted for milk.
Learn more about parve with a free trial on Britannica.com.