Spanish Word of the Day Archive
2006

  1. agresión: aggression (Wednesday November 01*)
  2. competencia: rivalry; competition (Thursday November 02)
  3. campo: country, countryside, field (Friday November 03)
  4. saber: to know (Saturday November 04)
  5. rebeca: cardigan (Sunday November 05)
  6. sangría: sangria (Monday November 06)
  7. embutidos: cold cuts (Tuesday November 07)
  8. veinte: twenty (Wednesday November 08)
  9. conocer: to know (Thursday November 09)
  10. pepino: cucumber (Friday November 10)
  11. abrir: to open (Saturday November 11)
  12. cerrar: to close (Sunday November 12)
  13. disgustar: to upset (Monday November 13)
  14. embarazada: pregnant (Tuesday November 14)
  15. receta: prescription; recipe (Wednesday November 15)
  16. simpático: nice (Thursday November 16)
  17. suceso: event; incident (Friday November 17)
  18. algodón: cotton (Saturday November 18)
  19. máscara: mask (Sunday November 19)
  20. ojalá: I hope, if only (Monday November 20)
  21. espinacas: spinach (Tuesday November 21)
  22. ojo: eye (Wednesday November 22)
  23. probable: likely (Thursday November 23)
  24. celebrar: celebrate, hold (Friday November 24)
  25. alfombra: carpet, rug (Saturday November 25)
  26. café: coffee, café (Sunday November 26)
  27. cariño: affection (Monday November 27)
  28. andar: go; walk; be (Tuesday November 28)
  29. pan: bread; loaf (Wednesday November 29)
  30. ya: already (Thursday November 30)
  31. y: and (Friday December 01)
  32. niño: boy (Saturday December 02)
  33. sombrero: hat (Sunday December 03)
  34. mosquito: mosquito (Monday December 04)
  35. pulmón: lung (Tuesday December 05)
  36. elefante: elephant (Wednesday December 06)
  37. tres: three (Thursday December 07)
  38. verde: green; dirty (Friday December 08)
  39. lazo: bow, knot, ribbon, lasso (Saturday December 09)
  40. hasta: as far as; till; up to (Sunday December 10)
  41. wáter: bathroom (Monday December 11)
  42. nadie: nobody; anybody (Tuesday December 12)
  43. viejo: old (Wednesday December 13)
  44. profesor: teacher (Thursday December 14)
  45. postre: dessert (Friday December 15)
  46. largo: long (Saturday December 16)
  47. librería: bookstore (Sunday December 17)
  48. rincón: corner (Monday December 18)
  49. florido: flowery; in bloom (Tuesday December 19)
  50. fe: faith (Wednesday December 20)
  51. álamo: poplar (Thursday December 21)
  52. colorado: red (Friday December 22)
  53. montaña: mountain (Saturday December 23)
  54. aburrirse: to get bored (Sunday December 24)
  55. almohada: pillow (Monday December 25)
  56. blanco: white (Tuesday December 26)
  57. tortuga: tortoise; turtle (Wednesday December 27)
  58. apellido: surname (Thursday December 28)
  59. Chile: Chile (Friday December 29)
  60. raza: race; breed (Saturday December 30)
  61. madrugar: to get up early (Sunday December 31)

* The first Spanish Word of the Day was on November 1, 2006.







Copyright © 2014 Dictionary.com, LLC. All rights reserved.
About PRIVACY POLICY Terms Careers Advertise with Us Contact Us Our Blog Suggest a Word Help