Spanish Word of the Day Archive
2007

  1. fiebre: temperature; fever (Monday January 01)
  2. charlatán: chatty (Tuesday January 02)
  3. acabar: to finish doing something; to have just done something (Wednesday January 03)
  4. listo: smart, bright; ready (Thursday January 04)
  5. soñar: to dream (Friday January 05)
  6. sueño: sleep; dream (Saturday January 06)
  7. quechua: Quechua (Sunday January 07)
  8. potosí: a fortune (Monday January 08)
  9. euskera: Basque (Tuesday January 09)
  10. catalán: Catalan (Wednesday January 10)
  11. pata: leg (Thursday January 11)
  12. para: for (Friday January 12)
  13. pareja: partner; couple (Saturday January 13)
  14. aconsejar: to advise; to recommend (Sunday January 14)
  15. cien: a hundred (Monday January 15)
  16. perro: dog (Tuesday January 16)
  17. motivo: reason; motive (Wednesday January 17)
  18. tópico: cliché (Thursday January 18)
  19. boca: mouth (Friday January 19)
  20. alma: soul (Saturday January 20)
  21. salsa: sauce; Salsa (Sunday January 21)
  22. orden: order (Monday January 22)
  23. asistir: to attend, to go; to treat (Tuesday January 23)
  24. mate: maté (Wednesday January 24)
  25. tomate: tomato (Thursday January 25)
  26. nochebuena: Christmas Eve (Friday January 26)
  27. rey: king (Saturday January 27)
  28. aunque: (al)though; even though; even if (Sunday January 28)
  29. barrio: neighborhood; district (Monday January 29)
  30. cafetero: coffee grower (Tuesday January 30)
  31. cebiche: raw fish marinated in lemon juice (Wednesday January 31)
  32. cuarto: fourth (Thursday February 01)
  33. cuenta: bill (Friday February 02)
  34. cuento: story (Saturday February 03)
  35. día: day (Sunday February 04)
  36. espalda: back (Monday February 05)
  37. empanada: pasty (Tuesday February 06)
  38. hueso: bone; stone (Wednesday February 07)
  39. igualmente: the same to you (Thursday February 08)
  40. lunes: Monday (Friday February 09)
  41. mano: hand (Saturday February 10)
  42. martes: Tuesday (Sunday February 11)
  43. náhuatl: the Nahuatl language (Monday February 12)
  44. nombre de pila: first name (Tuesday February 13)
  45. ojo (2): eye (Wednesday February 14)
  46. prisa: rush; hurry (Thursday February 15)
  47. parrilla: grill (Friday February 16)
  48. plaza de mayo: the Plaza de Mayo (Saturday February 17)
  49. puente: bridge (Sunday February 18)
  50. quinceañero: teenager (Monday February 19)
  51. quinto: fifth (Tuesday February 20)
  52. siesta: nap (Wednesday February 21)
  53. tapa: lid; top; tapa (Thursday February 22)
  54. tijeras: scissors (Friday February 23)
  55. uva: grape (Saturday February 24)
  56. valer: to cost (Sunday February 25)
  57. zapato: shoe (Monday February 26)
  58. afán: eagerness; effort (Tuesday February 27)
  59. afición: hobby; fans, supporters (Wednesday February 28)
  60. ahora: now (Thursday March 01)
  61. alegrarse: to be pleased, to be glad (Friday March 02)
  62. barba: beard (Saturday March 03)
  63. consistir: to consist of; to involve, to entail (Sunday March 04)
  64. dos: two (Monday March 05)
  65. gato: cat (Tuesday March 06)
  66. ilusión: hope; dream; illusion (Wednesday March 07)
  67. intentar: to try (Thursday March 08)
  68. interés: interest (Friday March 09)
  69. introducir: to bring in, to introduce; to insert (Saturday March 10)
  70. perderse: to get lost; to be lost (Sunday March 11)
  71. ponerse: to become; to be (Monday March 12)
  72. por si: in case (Tuesday March 13)
  73. por si (2): just in case (Wednesday March 14)
  74. presentar: to introduce (Thursday March 15)
  75. presumir: to show off (Friday March 16)
  76. quejarse: to complain (Saturday March 17)
  77. raro: strange; rare (Sunday March 18)
  78. realizar: to carry out; to undertake (Monday March 19)
  79. redundancia: tautology (Tuesday March 20)
  80. referirse: to refer; to mean (Wednesday March 21)
  81. regular: so-so; not brilliantly (Thursday March 22)
  82. ropa: clothes (Friday March 23)
  83. saber (2): to know (Saturday March 24)
  84. salir: to come out (Sunday March 25)
  85. sensible: sensitive (Monday March 26)
  86. vez: time (Tuesday March 27)
  87. vez (2): time (Wednesday March 28)
  88. ahorita: right now; a moment ago (Thursday March 29)
  89. cabo: end (Friday March 30)
  90. compromiso: engagement; arrangement (Saturday March 31)
  91. comprometerse: to commit yourself; to promise (Sunday April 01)
  92. cuidado: care (Monday April 02)
  93. cumplir: to carry out; to keep (Tuesday April 03)
  94. dar: to consider (Wednesday April 04)
  95. dos (2): two (Thursday April 05)
  96. estallar: to explode; to burst; to break out (Friday April 06)
  97. igual: maybe; anyway (Saturday April 07)
  98. importar: to mind (Sunday April 08)
  99. jamás: never (Monday April 09)
  100. medida: as (Tuesday April 10)
  101. mil: a thousand (Wednesday April 11)
  102. oficio: trade, profession, job (Thursday April 12)
  103. pañuelo: handkerchief; headscarf (Friday April 13)
  104. parar: to stop (Saturday April 14)
  105. pie: foot (Sunday April 15)
  106. ponerse (2): to start (Monday April 16)
  107. precioso: beautiful, lovely; precious (Tuesday April 17)
  108. pregunta: question (Wednesday April 18)
  109. principio: beginning (Thursday April 19)
  110. puntual: punctual, on time; detailed (Friday April 20)
  111. quedarse: to stay, to remain (Saturday April 21)
  112. rato: a while, a time (Sunday April 22)
  113. recordar: to remember; to remind (Monday April 23)
  114. resultar: to turn out (Tuesday April 24)
  115. sacar: to take out (Wednesday April 25)
  116. seguir: to carry on, to go on (Thursday April 26)
  117. sombra: shade; shadow (Friday April 27)
  118. trece: not to budge, to stick to your guns (Saturday April 28)
  119. araucaria: monkey puzzle tree (Sunday April 29)
  120. cabo (2): end (Monday April 30)
  121. cambio: exchange; bureau de change; change; (small) change (Tuesday May 01)
  122. charango: charango (Wednesday May 02)
  123. confianza: confidence (Thursday May 03)
  124. confianza (2): trust (Friday May 04)
  125. conseguir: to get, to obtain; to achieve (Saturday May 05)
  126. cuidado (2): to be careful (Sunday May 06)
  127. cumplir (2): to be (Monday May 07)
  128. discutir: to quarrel, to argue; to discuss (Tuesday May 08)
  129. importar (2): to matter (Wednesday May 09)
  130. Inti: Inti, the Inca sun god (Thursday May 10)
  131. llevar: to take (Friday May 11)
  132. llevar (2): to wear (Saturday May 12)
  133. llevar (3): to be (Sunday May 13)
  134. nick: nickname, username (Monday May 14)
  135. quedarse (2): to keep; to take (Tuesday May 15)
  136. quetzal: quetzal (Wednesday May 16)
  137. rancio: ancient, old-established; matured; rancid (Thursday May 17)
  138. raro (2): rare, unusual (Friday May 18)
  139. rato (2): time (Saturday May 19)
  140. Real Academia Española: The Royal Spanish Academy (Sunday May 20)
  141. resultar (2): to be (Monday May 21)
  142. seguir (2): to go on, to carry on; to be still... (Tuesday May 22)
  143. simpatizar: to get on well, to hit it off; to be sympathetic to, to sympathize with (Wednesday May 23)
  144. tiquet: sales slip, receipt; ticket, voucher (Thursday May 24)
  145. trabalenguas: tongue-twister (Friday May 25)
  146. tras: after (Saturday May 26)
  147. vela: candle (Sunday May 27)
  148. volver: to come back; to go back (Monday May 28)
  149. abuela: grandmother (Tuesday May 29)
  150. adecuado: suitable; right (Wednesday May 30)
  151. adiós: goodbye; hi, hello (Thursday May 31)
  152. anciano: elderly (Friday June 01)
  153. asunto: matter (Saturday June 02)
  154. broma: joke (Sunday June 03)
  155. callarse: to stop talking; to keep quiet (Monday June 04)
  156. casarse: to get married (Tuesday June 05)
  157. caso: case (Wednesday June 06)
  158. celos: jealousy (Thursday June 07)
  159. collar: necklace; collar (Friday June 08)
  160. conseguir (2): to manage (Saturday June 09)
  161. disimular: to hide, to conceal; to pretend (Sunday June 10)
  162. encoger: to shrink; to shrug (Monday June 11)
  163. equivocarse: to make a mistake; to be wrong (Tuesday June 12)
  164. explicarse: to express yourself, to explain (yourself) (Wednesday June 13)
  165. ignorar: not to know; to ignore (Thursday June 14)
  166. intención: meaning; intention (Friday June 15)
  167. inri: to make matters worse, to cap it all (Saturday June 16)
  168. lo: the important etc thing (Sunday June 17)
  169. molestar: to bother, to annoy (Monday June 18)
  170. molestar (2): to mind (Tuesday June 19)
  171. ocurrir: to happen (Wednesday June 20)
  172. parecer: to think (Thursday June 21)
  173. parecer (2): to think (Friday June 22)
  174. razón: to be right (Saturday June 23)
  175. tal: how are things? (Sunday June 24)
  176. temer: to be afraid of, to be frightened of (Monday June 25)
  177. tontería: silliness; nonsense, garbage (Tuesday June 26)
  178. vidrio: glass; window pane (Wednesday June 27)
  179. agresión: aggression (Thursday June 28)
  180. competencia: rivalry; competition (Friday June 29)
  181. campo: country, countryside, field (Saturday June 30)
  182. saber: to know (Sunday July 01)
  183. rebeca: cardigan (Monday July 02)
  184. sangría: sangria (Tuesday July 03)
  185. embutidos: cold cuts (Wednesday July 04)
  186. veinte: twenty (Thursday July 05)
  187. conocer: to know (Friday July 06)
  188. pepino: cucumber (Saturday July 07)
  189. abrir: to open (Sunday July 08)
  190. cerrar: to close (Monday July 09)
  191. disgustar: to upset (Tuesday July 10)
  192. embarazada: pregnant (Wednesday July 11)
  193. receta: recipe; prescription (Thursday July 12)
  194. simpático: nice (Friday July 13)
  195. suceso: event; incident (Saturday July 14)
  196. algodón: cotton (Sunday July 15)
  197. máscara: mask (Monday July 16)
  198. ojalá: I hope, if only (Tuesday July 17)
  199. espinacas: spinach (Wednesday July 18)
  200. ojo: eye (Thursday July 19)
  201. probable: likely (Friday July 20)
  202. celebrar: celebrate, hold (Saturday July 21)
  203. alfombra: carpet, rug (Sunday July 22)
  204. café: coffee, café (Monday July 23)
  205. cariño: affection (Tuesday July 24)
  206. andar: walk; be; go (Wednesday July 25)
  207. pan: bread; loaf (Thursday July 26)
  208. ya: already (Friday July 27)
  209. y: and (Saturday July 28)
  210. niño: boy (Sunday July 29)
  211. sombrero: hat (Monday July 30)
  212. mosquito: mosquito (Tuesday July 31)
  213. pulmón: lung (Wednesday August 01)
  214. elefante: elephant (Thursday August 02)
  215. tres: three (Friday August 03)
  216. verde: green; dirty (Saturday August 04)
  217. lazo: bow, knot, ribbon, lasso (Sunday August 05)
  218. hasta: till; up to; as far as (Monday August 06)
  219. wáter: bathroom (Tuesday August 07)
  220. nadie: nobody; anybody (Wednesday August 08)
  221. viejo: old (Thursday August 09)
  222. profesor: teacher (Friday August 10)
  223. postre: dessert (Saturday August 11)
  224. largo: long (Sunday August 12)
  225. librería: bookstore (Monday August 13)
  226. rincón: corner (Tuesday August 14)
  227. florido: flowery; in bloom (Wednesday August 15)
  228. fe: faith (Thursday August 16)
  229. álamo: poplar (Friday August 17)
  230. colorado: red (Saturday August 18)
  231. montaña: mountain (Sunday August 19)
  232. alegría: happiness, joy (Monday August 20)
  233. asunto (2): affair (Tuesday August 21)
  234. broma (2): joke (Wednesday August 22)
  235. cambio (2): but, however (Thursday August 23)
  236. caso (2): case (Friday August 24)
  237. choclo: corn, sweet corn (Saturday August 25)
  238. contrario: opposite; opposing (Sunday August 26)
  239. cuenta (2): to realize; to notice (Monday August 27)
  240. estación: station (Tuesday August 28)
  241. gato (2): cat (Wednesday August 29)
  242. hecho: fact (Thursday August 30)
  243. hecho (2): fact (Friday August 31)
  244. historia: history; story (Saturday September 01)
  245. hora: hour; time (Sunday September 02)
  246. ilusión (2): hope; dream; illusion (Monday September 03)
  247. igual (2): the same (Tuesday September 04)
  248. ilusionado: hopeful; excited (Wednesday September 05)
  249. imagen: image, picture (Thursday September 06)
  250. importante: important, significant; large (Friday September 07)
  251. interés (2): interest (Saturday September 08)
  252. -ito: little... (Sunday September 09)
  253. miedo: fear (Monday September 10)
  254. ocurrir (2): to think of (Tuesday September 11)
  255. oficio (2): trade, job (Wednesday September 12)
  256. probable (2): probable, likely (Thursday September 13)
  257. pues: then; well (Friday September 14)
  258. rayo: ray; lightning (Saturday September 15)
  259. tarea: task, job (Sunday September 16)
  260. tiempo: time (Monday September 17)
  261. afortunado: fortunate, lucky (Tuesday September 18)
  262. antipático: unfriendly, unpleasant (Wednesday September 19)
  263. caso (3): case (Thursday September 20)
  264. desgracia: misfortune, bad luck (Friday September 21)
  265. dirigir: to manage, to run; to lead (Saturday September 22)
  266. esperar: to wait, to wait for; to expect (Sunday September 23)
  267. esperar (2): to hope (Monday September 24)
  268. exterior: abroad; the exterior, the outside (Tuesday September 25)
  269. fuerte: strong; loud (Wednesday September 26)
  270. gracia: to be funny (Thursday September 27)
  271. gracias: thanks (Friday September 28)
  272. hito: landmark; milestone (Saturday September 29)
  273. hogar: home, household (Sunday September 30)
  274. huésped: guest (Monday October 01)
  275. imagen (2): reflection; image (Tuesday October 02)
  276. mismo: the same (Wednesday October 03)
  277. mismo (2): right... (Thursday October 04)
  278. montar: to ride (Friday October 05)
  279. morir(se): to die (Saturday October 06)
  280. morirse: to die (Sunday October 07)
  281. pérdida: loss (Monday October 08)
  282. platicar: to talk, to chat; to tell (Tuesday October 09)
  283. poco: bit by bit, little by little (Wednesday October 10)
  284. preparativos: preparations (Thursday October 11)
  285. régimen: diet; régime (Friday October 12)
  286. sanidad: public health (Saturday October 13)
  287. sanitario: health; sanitary (Sunday October 14)
  288. suerte: luck (Monday October 15)
  289. venta: sale (Tuesday October 16)
  290. agenda: diary; schedule, agenda (Wednesday October 17)
  291. ahora (2): now (Thursday October 18)
  292. alegrarse (2): to be pleased, to be glad (Friday October 19)
  293. capaz: capable, able (Saturday October 20)
  294. carrera: career; degree (Sunday October 21)
  295. chimenea: chimney; fireplace (Monday October 22)
  296. contrario (2): not at all; on the contrary, on the other hand (Tuesday October 23)
  297. despertar: to wake up (Wednesday October 24)
  298. despierto: awake; bright (Thursday October 25)
  299. diferente: different; several, various (Friday October 26)
  300. dirigir (2): to direct; to aim (Saturday October 27)
  301. distinto: different; several, various (Sunday October 28)
  302. dormir: to sleep (Monday October 29)
  303. flojo: loose; weak, feeble (Tuesday October 30)
  304. fondo: end; bottom (Wednesday October 31)
  305. genial: brilliant, awesome (Thursday November 01)
  306. gracioso: funny, amusing (Friday November 02)
  307. honestamente: honestly; to be honest with you, frankly (Saturday November 03)
  308. honor: honor (Sunday November 04)
  309. hospedarse: to stay, to put up (Monday November 05)
  310. hospitalario: hospital; medical (Tuesday November 06)
  311. huelga: strike (Wednesday November 07)
  312. importante (2): the main thing, the most important thing (Thursday November 08)
  313. invitado: guest (Friday November 09)
  314. ligero: light, lightweight (Saturday November 10)
  315. ligero (2): slight (Sunday November 11)
  316. mano (2): hand (Monday November 12)
  317. negocio: business (Tuesday November 13)
  318. tomar: to take (Wednesday November 14)
  319. vivo: alive, living; bright (Thursday November 15)
  320. acuerdo: to agree (Friday November 16)
  321. anda: hurry up; come on (Saturday November 17)
  322. antes: before (Sunday November 18)
  323. antes (2): soon (Monday November 19)
  324. apetecer: to feel like (Tuesday November 20)
  325. claro: clear, obvious; light (Wednesday November 21)
  326. claro (2): of course; sure (Thursday November 22)
  327. cuadro: painting; picture; table, chart (Friday November 23)
  328. después: after(wards); later (Saturday November 24)
  329. después (2): after (Sunday November 25)
  330. después (3): next, then (Monday November 26)
  331. encantar: to love (Tuesday November 27)
  332. flojo (2): weak; lazy (Wednesday November 28)
  333. fuerte (2): sharp; heavy; intense (Thursday November 29)
  334. hora (2): period; appointment (Friday November 30)
  335. -ito (2): little... (Saturday December 01)
  336. marco: frame; goal posts; framework (Sunday December 02)
  337. oscuro: dark (Monday December 03)
  338. pararse: to stand up (Tuesday December 04)
  339. pensado: to plan to do (Wednesday December 05)
  340. pensar: to think (Thursday December 06)
  341. pensar (2): to think about, to think over (Friday December 07)
  342. por: because of; for (Saturday December 08)
  343. ¿por qué?: Why? (Sunday December 09)
  344. que: Enjoy yourself (Monday December 10)
  345. retrato: portrait (Tuesday December 11)
  346. salir (2): to leave; to get out (Wednesday December 12)
  347. valer (2): OK! (Thursday December 13)
  348. va: No way! (Friday December 14)
  349. aburrirse: to get bored (Saturday December 15)
  350. almohada: pillow (Sunday December 16)
  351. blanco: white (Monday December 17)
  352. tortuga: tortoise; turtle (Tuesday December 18)
  353. apellido: surname (Wednesday December 19)
  354. Chile: Chile (Thursday December 20)
  355. raza: race; breed (Friday December 21)
  356. madrugar: to get up early (Saturday December 22)
  357. fiebre: temperature; fever (Sunday December 23)
  358. charlatán: chatty (Monday December 24)
  359. acabar: to finish doing something; to have just done something (Tuesday December 25)
  360. listo: smart, bright; ready (Wednesday December 26)
  361. soñar: to dream (Thursday December 27)
  362. sueño: sleep; dream (Friday December 28)
  363. quechua: Quechua (Saturday December 29)
  364. potosí: a fortune (Sunday December 30)
  365. euskera: Basque (Monday December 31)






Copyright © 2014 Dictionary.com, LLC. All rights reserved.
About PRIVACY POLICY Terms Careers Advertise with Us Contact Us Our Blog Suggest a Word Help