Spanish Word of the Day Archive
2008

  1. catalán: Catalan (Tuesday January 01)
  2. pata: leg (Wednesday January 02)
  3. para: for (Thursday January 03)
  4. pareja: partner; couple (Friday January 04)
  5. aconsejar: to advise; to recommend (Saturday January 05)
  6. cien: a hundred (Sunday January 06)
  7. perro: dog (Monday January 07)
  8. motivo: reason; motive (Tuesday January 08)
  9. tópico: cliché (Wednesday January 09)
  10. boca: mouth (Thursday January 10)
  11. alma: soul (Friday January 11)
  12. salsa: sauce; Salsa (Saturday January 12)
  13. orden: order (Sunday January 13)
  14. asistir: to attend, to go; to treat (Monday January 14)
  15. mate: maté (Tuesday January 15)
  16. tomate: tomato (Wednesday January 16)
  17. nochebuena: Christmas Eve (Thursday January 17)
  18. rey: king (Friday January 18)
  19. aunque: (al)though; even though; even if (Saturday January 19)
  20. barrio: neighborhood; district (Sunday January 20)
  21. cafetero: coffee grower (Monday January 21)
  22. cebiche: raw fish marinated in lemon juice (Tuesday January 22)
  23. cuarto: fourth (Wednesday January 23)
  24. cuenta: bill (Thursday January 24)
  25. cuento: story (Friday January 25)
  26. día: day (Saturday January 26)
  27. espalda: back (Sunday January 27)
  28. empanada: pasty (Monday January 28)
  29. hueso: bone; stone (Tuesday January 29)
  30. igualmente: the same to you (Wednesday January 30)
  31. lunes: Monday (Thursday January 31)
  32. mano: hand (Friday February 01)
  33. martes: Tuesday (Saturday February 02)
  34. náhuatl: the Nahuatl language (Sunday February 03)
  35. nombre de pila: first name (Monday February 04)
  36. ojo (2): eye (Tuesday February 05)
  37. prisa: rush; hurry (Wednesday February 06)
  38. parrilla: grill (Thursday February 07)
  39. plaza de mayo: the Plaza de Mayo (Friday February 08)
  40. puente: bridge (Saturday February 09)
  41. quinceañero: teenager (Sunday February 10)
  42. quinto: fifth (Monday February 11)
  43. siesta: nap (Tuesday February 12)
  44. tapa: lid; top; tapa (Wednesday February 13)
  45. tijeras: scissors (Thursday February 14)
  46. uva: grape (Friday February 15)
  47. valer: to cost (Saturday February 16)
  48. zapato: shoe (Sunday February 17)
  49. afán: eagerness; effort (Monday February 18)
  50. afición: hobby; fans, supporters (Tuesday February 19)
  51. amarillo: yellow (Wednesday February 20)
  52. bonito: pretty (Thursday February 21)
  53. cabal: upright, fine; full, clear (Friday February 22)
  54. contento: happy; pleased (Saturday February 23)
  55. corona: crown; garland (Sunday February 24)
  56. delgado: slim; thin (Monday February 25)
  57. despedir: to say goodbye to (Tuesday February 26)
  58. destino: destination; posting; destiny (Wednesday February 27)
  59. devolver: to give back; to take back (Thursday February 28)
  60. dificultar: to make ... difficult; to hold up (Friday February 29)
  61. entregar: to deliver; to hand in; to present (Saturday March 01)
  62. fin: end (Sunday March 02)
  63. final: end (Monday March 03)
  64. habitación: room; bedroom (Tuesday March 04)
  65. harto: fed up, tired (Wednesday March 05)
  66. herido: injured, hurt (Thursday March 06)
  67. hojear: to leaf through, to flick through (Friday March 07)
  68. inocente: innocent (Saturday March 08)
  69. juicio: judgement, good sense; opinion; trial (Sunday March 09)
  70. luego: then; later; soon (Monday March 10)
  71. mediado: halfway through (Tuesday March 11)
  72. ocupación: employment, job; activity (Wednesday March 12)
  73. preocupar: to worry (Thursday March 13)
  74. preparar: to prepare, to get ready (Friday March 14)
  75. preparado: ready, prepared (Saturday March 15)
  76. puesto: place; post, job; stall (Sunday March 16)
  77. resaltar: to stand out; to highlight (Monday March 17)
  78. saltar: to jump; to leap (Tuesday March 18)
  79. supuesto: supposed, alleged (Wednesday March 19)
  80. vistazo: look; glance (Thursday March 20)
  81. balance: balance (Friday March 21)
  82. balanza: scales (Saturday March 22)
  83. barato: cheap (Sunday March 23)
  84. entre: between; among (Monday March 24)
  85. entrenar: to train (Tuesday March 25)
  86. entretanto: meanwhile (Wednesday March 26)
  87. fin (2): end (Thursday March 27)
  88. ganas: to feel like doing (Friday March 28)
  89. hacer: to make; to do (Saturday March 29)
  90. hacer (2): a year ago (Sunday March 30)
  91. hambre: hunger (Monday March 31)
  92. húmedo: damp; moist (Tuesday April 01)
  93. inoportuno: untimely; worst; unsuitable (Wednesday April 02)
  94. loco: crazy; insane, mad (Thursday April 03)
  95. locura: madness, insanity (Friday April 04)
  96. -ura: beauty (Saturday April 05)
  97. medida (2): measure; measurements; size (Sunday April 06)
  98. medir: to measure (Monday April 07)
  99. molestar (3): to bother; to disturb (Tuesday April 08)
  100. oportuno: timely; right; better (Wednesday April 09)
  101. pensar (3): to intend (Thursday April 10)
  102. pesar: to weigh (Friday April 11)
  103. pesar (2): in spite of (Saturday April 12)
  104. rehén: hostage (Sunday April 13)
  105. seco: dry; dried (Monday April 14)
  106. tranquilo: calm (Tuesday April 15)
  107. urgir: to be urgent (Wednesday April 16)
  108. víctima: victim; casualty (Thursday April 17)
  109. vista: sight (Friday April 18)
  110. vista (2): to look up/to look down (Saturday April 19)
  111. ahora: now (Sunday April 20)
  112. alegrarse: to be pleased, to be glad (Monday April 21)
  113. barba: beard (Tuesday April 22)
  114. consistir: to consist of; to involve, to entail (Wednesday April 23)
  115. dos: two (Thursday April 24)
  116. gato: cat (Friday April 25)
  117. ilusión: dream; illusion; hope (Saturday April 26)
  118. intentar: to try (Sunday April 27)
  119. interés: interest (Monday April 28)
  120. introducir: to bring in, to introduce; to insert (Tuesday April 29)
  121. perderse: to get lost; to be lost (Wednesday April 30)
  122. ponerse: to become; to be (Thursday May 01)
  123. por si: in case (Friday May 02)
  124. por si (2): just in case (Saturday May 03)
  125. presentar: to introduce (Sunday May 04)
  126. presumir: to show off (Monday May 05)
  127. quejarse: to complain (Tuesday May 06)
  128. raro: rare; strange (Wednesday May 07)
  129. realizar: to carry out; to undertake (Thursday May 08)
  130. redundancia: tautology (Friday May 09)
  131. referirse: to refer; to mean (Saturday May 10)
  132. regular: so-so; not brilliantly (Sunday May 11)
  133. ropa: clothes (Monday May 12)
  134. saber (2): to know (Tuesday May 13)
  135. animar: to encourage (Wednesday May 14)
  136. ánimo: spirits (Thursday May 15)
  137. bolsa: bag (Friday May 16)
  138. brazo: arm (Saturday May 17)
  139. caro: expensive (Sunday May 18)
  140. cartera: schoolbag; briefcase; billfold; purse (Monday May 19)
  141. ceja: eyebrow (Tuesday May 20)
  142. cintura: waist; waistline (Wednesday May 21)
  143. cinturón: belt (Thursday May 22)
  144. clavo: nail (Friday May 23)
  145. cuñado: brother-in-law (Saturday May 24)
  146. corbata: necktie, tie (Sunday May 25)
  147. cuello: neck; collar (Monday May 26)
  148. dentadura: (set of) teeth (Tuesday May 27)
  149. desaconsejar: to advise against (Wednesday May 28)
  150. doler: to hurt; to ache, to be sore (Thursday May 29)
  151. dolor: ache; pain (Friday May 30)
  152. entrada: entrance; entry (Saturday May 31)
  153. garganta: throat (Sunday June 01)
  154. grano: grain; bean (Monday June 02)
  155. guante: glove (Tuesday June 03)
  156. incapaz: incapable (Wednesday June 04)
  157. lana: wool (Thursday June 05)
  158. manga: sleeve; round, stage (Friday June 06)
  159. molesto: annoying, irritating; annoyed, irritated (Saturday June 07)
  160. nariz: nose (Sunday June 08)
  161. padre: tremendous; terrible (Monday June 09)
  162. particular: private; special; particular (Tuesday June 10)
  163. pendiente: outstanding, unresolved; outstanding (Wednesday June 11)
  164. -azo: huge; great (Thursday June 12)
  165. barba (2): beard (Friday June 13)
  166. bigote: mustache; whisker (Saturday June 14)
  167. bonito (2): pretty; nice (Sunday June 15)
  168. cepillo: brush (Monday June 16)
  169. cocina: kitchen; cooking (Tuesday June 17)
  170. cóctel: cocktail (Wednesday June 18)
  171. cuchara: spoon (Thursday June 19)
  172. cuchillo: knife (Friday June 20)
  173. desodorante: deodorant (Saturday June 21)
  174. económico: economic, financial; economical, inexpensive (Sunday June 22)
  175. espejo: mirror (Monday June 23)
  176. fiel: loyal, faithful; accurate (Tuesday June 24)
  177. hervir: to boil (Wednesday June 25)
  178. horno: oven (Thursday June 26)
  179. inquieto: worried; restless (Friday June 27)
  180. jabón: soap (Saturday June 28)
  181. látigo: whip (Sunday June 29)
  182. lavar: to wash (Monday June 30)
  183. leal: loyal, faithful (Tuesday July 01)
  184. nervioso: nervous (Wednesday July 02)
  185. novedoso: novel, original (Thursday July 03)
  186. pelirrojo: red-haired, red-headed (Friday July 04)
  187. pimienta: pepper (Saturday July 05)
  188. polvo: dust (Sunday July 06)
  189. precioso (2): beautiful, lovely, gorgeous; precious (Monday July 07)
  190. quemar: to burn (Tuesday July 08)
  191. rallar: to grate (Wednesday July 09)
  192. regalo: present, gift (Thursday July 10)
  193. susto: fright, shock (Friday July 11)
  194. alcoba: bedroom (Saturday July 12)
  195. auténtico: real; genuine (Sunday July 13)
  196. barbacoa: barbecue (Monday July 14)
  197. ciego: blind (Tuesday July 15)
  198. cima: peak; top (Wednesday July 16)
  199. desapercibido: unnoticed (Thursday July 17)
  200. desatar: to undo; to untie; to unleash (Friday July 18)
  201. descansar: to rest; to have a rest (Saturday July 19)
  202. descanso: rest; time off (Sunday July 20)
  203. desechar: to throw out; to dispose of (Monday July 21)
  204. echar: to throw; to throw out; to fire (Tuesday July 22)
  205. echar (2): to put (Wednesday July 23)
  206. encima: on top of; on (Thursday July 24)
  207. especial: special (Friday July 25)
  208. familiar: familiar; family (Saturday July 26)
  209. flor: flower (Sunday July 27)
  210. grabar: to record; to engrave (Monday July 28)
  211. idéntico: identical, exactly the same (Tuesday July 29)
  212. inolvidable: unforgettable (Wednesday July 30)
  213. inquietar: to worry (Thursday July 31)
  214. lleno: full (Friday August 01)
  215. muro: wall (Saturday August 02)
  216. ordenado: tidy; organized (Sunday August 03)
  217. país: country (Monday August 04)
  218. pared: wall (Tuesday August 05)
  219. pico: beak; spout; peak (Wednesday August 06)
  220. piso: story, floor; apartment (Thursday August 07)
  221. plancha: iron (Friday August 08)
  222. pobre: poor (Saturday August 09)
  223. preparar (2): to prepare (Sunday August 10)
  224. presentar (2): to hand in; to show (Monday August 11)
  225. anteojos: glasses, spectacles (Tuesday August 12)
  226. atar: to tie; to tie up (Wednesday August 13)
  227. cocinar: to cook (Thursday August 14)
  228. copa: glass (Friday August 15)
  229. llenar: to fill (Saturday August 16)
  230. nuez: walnut (Sunday August 17)
  231. ordenar: to arrange; to tidy (Monday August 18)
  232. pantalla: screen (Tuesday August 19)
  233. pendiente (2): to await, to wait for (Wednesday August 20)
  234. pisar: to walk on; to tread on (Thursday August 21)
  235. plegar: to fold (Friday August 22)
  236. prisa (2): hurry; rush (Saturday August 23)
  237. punto: to be about to (Sunday August 24)
  238. quemadura: burn (Monday August 25)
  239. regalo (2): bargain, steal (Tuesday August 26)
  240. relato: story; report (Wednesday August 27)
  241. remover: to turn over; to poke; to stir (Thursday August 28)
  242. rico: rich; delicious (Friday August 29)
  243. sal: salt (Saturday August 30)
  244. sala: room (Sunday August 31)
  245. sendero: path (Monday September 01)
  246. tapete: tablecloth; rug (Tuesday September 02)
  247. tenedor: fork (Wednesday September 03)
  248. tiempo (2): time (Thursday September 04)
  249. toalla: towel (Friday September 05)
  250. tomar (2): to take (Saturday September 06)
  251. tostar: to toast; to roast; to tan (Sunday September 07)
  252. uña: nail (Monday September 08)
  253. vacío: empty; meaningless (Tuesday September 09)
  254. verdadero: real (Wednesday September 10)
  255. anfitrión: host (Thursday September 11)
  256. cabeza: head; top (Friday September 12)
  257. cibernauta: internet user (Saturday September 13)
  258. cocer: to cook (Sunday September 14)
  259. colar: to strain; to push in; to gatecrash (Monday September 15)
  260. dejar: to stop doing (Tuesday September 16)
  261. descanso (2): break; half time (Wednesday September 17)
  262. destapar: to uncover; to open (Thursday September 18)
  263. desvelar: to reveal; to keep awake (Friday September 19)
  264. etapa: stage; phase (Saturday September 20)
  265. localidad: town, locality; ticket (Sunday September 21)
  266. narigón: having a large nose (Monday September 22)
  267. nariz (2): nose (Tuesday September 23)
  268. navegador: browser (Wednesday September 24)
  269. nervios: nerves (Thursday September 25)
  270. nervioso (2): high strung, highly strung (Friday September 26)
  271. nick (2): username (Saturday September 27)
  272. ordenar (2): to order (Sunday September 28)
  273. regalar: to give; to give away (Monday September 29)
  274. relación: connection, relationship, link (Tuesday September 30)
  275. relacionar: to connect, to link (Wednesday October 01)
  276. revelar: to reveal; to develop (Thursday October 02)
  277. salida: exit, way out (Friday October 03)
  278. tapar: to cover (Saturday October 04)
  279. vaso: a glass (Sunday October 05)
  280. vela (2): candle; sail; sailing (Monday October 06)
  281. ventana: window (Tuesday October 07)
  282. verdad: truth (Wednesday October 08)
  283. virtud: virtue (Thursday October 09)
  284. arena: sand; arena (Friday October 10)
  285. capital: capital (Saturday October 11)
  286. claro (3): clear (Sunday October 12)
  287. conquistar: to conquer; to win over (Monday October 13)
  288. contar: to tell; to count (Tuesday October 14)
  289. copa (2): glass (Wednesday October 15)
  290. cotidiano: daily, everyday (Thursday October 16)
  291. desviar: to divert (Friday October 17)
  292. dirección: direction; address (Saturday October 18)
  293. emplomadura: filling (Sunday October 19)
  294. frente: forehead (Monday October 20)
  295. mensual: monthly, per month (Tuesday October 21)
  296. moral: morale; morals (Wednesday October 22)
  297. moreno: tanned; dark (Thursday October 23)
  298. mundano: worldly (Friday October 24)
  299. persiana: blinds (Saturday October 25)
  300. pues (2): well (Sunday October 26)
  301. quemar (2): to burn (Monday October 27)
  302. razón (2): reason (Tuesday October 28)
  303. rebelarse: to rebel (Wednesday October 29)
  304. sacar (2): to get, to obtain; to take (Thursday October 30)
  305. secar: to dry (Friday October 31)
  306. semáforo: traffic lights, traffic signals (Saturday November 01)
  307. semanal: weekly, per week (Sunday November 02)
  308. seña: sign (Monday November 03)
  309. señal: sign; signal (Tuesday November 04)
  310. sol: the sun (Wednesday November 05)
  311. tormenta: storm (Thursday November 06)
  312. velar: to look after (Friday November 07)
  313. viento: wind (Saturday November 08)
  314. abajo: below; downstairs (Sunday November 09)
  315. agradar: to like (Monday November 10)
  316. alto: tall; high (Tuesday November 11)
  317. antiguo: old; antique; former (Wednesday November 12)
  318. apuntar: to write down, to make a note of; to point (Thursday November 13)
  319. arriba: above; upstairs (Friday November 14)
  320. bajar: to come down; to go down (Saturday November 15)
  321. bajo: low; short (Sunday November 16)
  322. cielo: sky; heaven (Monday November 17)
  323. convertirse: to become (Tuesday November 18)
  324. desagradar: to dislike, to find ... unpleasant (Wednesday November 19)
  325. desconocer: not to know, to be ignorant of (Thursday November 20)
  326. diario: daily (Friday November 21)
  327. facilitar: to make easier; to facilitate (Saturday November 22)
  328. flaco: thin, skinny (Sunday November 23)
  329. frente a: opposite; in front of; in the face of (Monday November 24)
  330. gordo: fat (Tuesday November 25)
  331. hembra: female (Wednesday November 26)
  332. inferior: lower; inferior (Thursday November 27)
  333. infierno: hell (Friday November 28)
  334. invierno: winter (Saturday November 29)
  335. nota: mark; note (Sunday November 30)
  336. otoño: fall, autumn (Monday December 01)
  337. primavera: spring (Tuesday December 02)
  338. rápido: fast, quick; quickly (Wednesday December 03)
  339. rebelde: rebellious; rebel (Thursday December 04)
  340. rojo: red (Friday December 05)
  341. rosa: rose; pink (Saturday December 06)
  342. saltar (2): to appear (Sunday December 07)
  343. semana: week (Monday December 08)
  344. abajo (2): down (Tuesday December 09)
  345. agradable: pleasant, nice (Wednesday December 10)
  346. agrado: liking (Thursday December 11)
  347. alto (2): loud (Friday December 12)
  348. amenazar: to threaten (Saturday December 13)
  349. antiguamente: once, formerly; in the old days (Sunday December 14)
  350. apuntar (2): to enrol (Monday December 15)
  351. arreglar: to fix, to repair, to mend; to tidy up (Tuesday December 16)
  352. bajar (2): to take down; to turn down (Wednesday December 17)
  353. bajo (2): soft, faint (Thursday December 18)
  354. caber: to fit (Friday December 19)
  355. caer: to fall (Saturday December 20)
  356. camino: track; path; road (Sunday December 21)
  357. cansado: tired; tiring (Monday December 22)
  358. cara: face (Tuesday December 23)
  359. cielo (2) (Wednesday December 24)
  360. debajo: under; underneath (Thursday December 25)
  361. desarrollar: to develop (Friday December 26)
  362. despertador: alarm clock (Saturday December 27)
  363. diario (2): daily (Sunday December 28)
  364. doblar: to fold; to bend; to turn (Monday December 29)
  365. edad: age (Tuesday December 30)
  366. gordo (2): big (Wednesday December 31)






Copyright © 2014 Dictionary.com, LLC. All rights reserved.
About PRIVACY POLICY Terms Careers Advertise with Us Contact Us Our Blog Suggest a Word Help